Jim Hagen Named State Tourism Director of the Year

Jim Hagen,
Sourth Dakota Secretary of Tourism
Each year the U.S. Travel Association and the National Council of State Tourism Directors nominate three people to be in the running for the State Tourism Director of the Year. Jim Hagen, South Dakota Secretary of Tourism was nominated as one of this year's three finalists. The STDOTY award is given to the professional whose leadership has led to the measurable improvement of his or her state's travel and tourism profile.

On Monday, Hagen won the "Outstanding State Tourism Director" award in front of more than 600 of his peers at the ESTO conference in Louisville, KY.

"South Dakota understands that travel dollars are an essential contributor to the state economy," said U.S. Travel Association President and CEO Roger Dow. "The competitive tourism marketplace demands that states invest in effective, efficient promotion, and this award demonstrates that Jim Hagen is running a program that has the highest respect of his peers."

Hagen is the first South Dakotan to receive the award in the last 20 years (Susan Edwards, 1994). We’re fortunate to have such an enthusiastic and driven leader for our Tourism Department. Congratulations, Jim!

Popular Posts